Facts and History

Type of College: Public two-year comprehensive community college

Founded: 1960

Main Campus Location: A 190-acre campus located at 3575 College Road, Harrisburg.  Phone: (618) 252-5400 (local) or toll free (866) 338-2742

Additional Location: David L. Stanley White County Center, located at 1700 College Avenue in Carmi since 1987.  Phone: (618) 382-8869

College District #533: Gallatin, Hardin, Pope and Saline counties; portions of Hamilton, Johnson, Williamson and White counties

President: Jonah Rice, Ph.D.

Annual Budget: approximately $19.4 million

District Equalized Assessed Evaluation: $598,814,762

Annual Enrollment: Approximately 4,000 full and part-time students

Tuition: $106 per credit hour for in-district students, online students and special border county designations (2021-22 Academic Year)

Library:  Access to over 117,000 physical and electronic resources on campus, and access to over 38 million physical and electronic resources statewide

Financial Aid Awarded Annually: Approximately $3.7 million (2019-20)

Employees: 90 full-time, 50 part-time (spring 2021)

Courses of Study:
Arts and Science Associate Degree Programs
Associate in Applied Science Degree Programs
Associate in Engineering Science Degree
Associate in Fine Arts Degree
Associate in Fine Arts in Musical Theater Degree
Associate in Fine Arts in Theater Acting Degree
Associate in Liberal Studies Degree
Occupational Certificate Programs  

District Population: 49,000

High School Districts: 10

Accredited by: The Higher Learning Commission

Recognized by:
Illinois Community College Board
Illinois Board of Higher Education
Illinois State Board of Education
Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs

Institutional Member of:
American Association of Community Colleges

Approved By
The State Approving Agency for Veterans Education